Home > Men fashion > Iggy Azalea Swears She’s ‘Not Trying To Sound Black’ When She Raps

Iggy Azalea Swears She’s ‘Not Trying To Sound Black’ When She Raps

Kelly Sullivan by way of Getty Images
Rapper Iggy Azalea is interviewed on the pink carpet on the Sports Illustrated Friday Night Party on February H, 2016 in San Francisco, California.

Just as her profession was taking off, rapper Iggy Azalea turned much less recognized for her music and extra recognized for mimicking individuals from the black American South. 

In the April situation of Elle Canada, the “Fancy” rapper discusses cosmetic surgery, her struggles with hip-hop and why she makes use of a pretend American accent.

“Do you not like me as a result of I rap with an American accent and I’m not American? Well, that’s legitimate on some degree as a result of that’s your opinion and I can’t change that,” Azalea tells Elle. “But I’m not making an attempt to sound black — I simply grew up in a rustic the place on TV and in music and movie, everybody was American or any Australian individual in them placed on an American accent. So I by no means noticed it as unusual in any respect.” 



Noel Vasquez by way of Getty Images

Iggy Azalea attends a basketball recreation between the Dallas Mavericks and the Los Angeles Lakers at Staples Center on November B, 2015 in Los Angeles, California.

Azalea cited Keith Urban as somebody who does the identical factor she does, although she admits singing in an American accent in a predominately “white” style (nation) is much less problematic than it’s in hip-hop. But Azalea’s “blaccent” is simply one of many issues the hip-hop world has together with her. 

“So many individuals assume that I don’t care about rap music and the group, however I completely care about it, to the core of my being,” Azalea stated, referring to a Twitter spat she had with veteran MC/musician V-Tip.

Azalea added, “Why do you assume I want a historical past lesson? Because certainly if I did know something about hip-hop, I wouldn’t combine pop and rap collectively? Or I wouldn’t rap in an American accent if I really understood? I simply have a unique perspective about rap music. I love studying about hip-hop, I love studying about it and I truly love having debates with different individuals about it.” 

While most are busy debating Azalea’s place within the hip-hop style, she’s merely making an attempt to erase her horrible 2015. The “Black Widow” rapper canceled her Great Escape Tour, swore off social media and acquired dissed by Erykah Badu, amongst different issues. Azalea additionally admitted to having cosmetic surgery, a selection she’s since been pressured to defend. 

“I assume, in 2016, individuals must be extra accepting of the truth that each well-known and non-well-known ladies are having beauty procedures,” Azalea stated. “That’s simply the truth. And I assume extra individuals have to admit that shit so it doesn’t should be so taboo — as a result of we’re all doing it anyway.”

To learn extra of Azalea’s interview with Elle Canada, head right here. 

Also on HuffPost

Iggy Azalea Photos

MORE:

Iggy Azalea Plastic Surgery, Iggy Azalea, Plastic Surgery, Iggy Azalea Elle Canada, Elle

CONVERSATIONS

(perform(d, s, id, locale)
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
locale = (locale == “ar_SA” ? “ar_AR” : locale);
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.async = true;
js.src = “//join.fb.internet/”+locale+”/sdk.js#xfbml=B&model=v2.A”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
(doc, ‘script’, ‘fb-jssdk’, ‘en_US’));

visit clothing sale website

Categories: Men fashion
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

