Home > Men fashion > AUS-ome Babes: Leah Fraser

AUS-ome Babes: Leah Fraser

Post image for AUS-ome Babes: Leah Fraser

The first of a A-half collection that includes a few of our favourite Aussie babes…

This publish involves us from , and is the primary of a A-half collection that includes some of our superb new associates in Australia!

Artist Leah Fraser creates otherworldly realms in her work and ceramics, exploring folklore, ceremony and indigenous tradition. Her topics are sometimes adorned in ritualistic clothes and jewellery, adorned with flowers and crops and surrounded by nature. Fraser depicts shaman-like characters touring via mystical lands in the hunt for religious metamorphosis, the place they encounter mammals, birds, reptiles, wildlife. Gods, goddesses, demons, gurus, deities and ingénues are resplendent in richly coloured scenes that encourage the viewer to ponder their very own relationship with nature and the universe. We visited Fraser in her backyard studio close to Sydney’s Bronte seashore, to get a peek at her course of and a few works in progress.

leah-20

Name: Leah Fraser
Location: Bronte, Sydney, Australia
Vocation: Visual Artist

Describe your morning routine…
I get up early and feed my canine, Nelly, and take her for a little bit of a stroll. Then I will perhaps have a swim or go to yoga, seize a espresso, and I’m into my little studio by H:30 or 9am.

What will get your juices flowing?
Music, books, pals, wine, dancing, being alone, writing, espresso, yoga, films, historical past, swimming, journey…

leah-8

When do you are feeling most impressed?  
There’s nobody factor that triggers inspiration for me. It can come up from something actually… it’s simply the appropriate mixture of temper, mild, sound and feeling, I suppose. I might be strolling up the street consuming a peach and really feel a wave of one thing filling me up.

leah-26

Do you prepare dinner or comply with a meals philosophy, and what are your favourite issues to eat?
I like to prepare dinner and eat! We do a number of Mexican at residence, and I love making soups in winter. But I additionally love consuming out (my present favourite is that this superb Vietnamese pho across the nook from us). Roasts each Sunday are a household custom of my boyfriend’s, which we joyfully maintain. I am an enormous chocolate fiend — I can’t reside with out it. I assume the overall philosophy is the whole lot sparsely.

leah-3

How do you want to include motion into your life?
I stroll lots and swim on the seashore virtually each day in summer time. Yoga has been part of my life for over ten years now — I love the connection of motion to breath. There’s additionally plenty of solo dancing that goes on in my studio.

What do you are feeling most gratitude for?
I should remind myself on a regular basis to be thankful for the life I have. There are so many dangerous issues happening on this world and we’re so fortunate to be dwelling in a semi-peaceable nation (although we have now our issues right here, too). And in all this pure magnificence [in Australia], we have to maintain onto that for pricey life.

When the going will get robust, what do you flip to?
Some sorts of robust name for meditating in wild, lonely locations and swims within the ocean; and typically robust occasions want wine and unhappy music.

How do you wish to let your hair down?
Hanging out with my associates.

What couldn’t you reside with out?
Oh my God, there are such a lot of issues I can’t stay with out. I’m so needy! Sleep. My boyfriend. Food. My girlfriends. Exercise, espresso, heat, podcasts, lists, flowers, a toothbrush…

leah-16

If you would study a brand new talent or foster a brand new expertise, what wouldn’t it be?
The piano. French? I have fantasies about being a dancer however I assume it’s a bit late for me, sadly.

Where have you ever traveled to lately?
Last yr I went to New Zealand, Italy, Spain and America. This summer time I have been up in Byron Bay, Valla Beach and Bellingen [in Australia]. I’m going to London subsequent week. I actually love touring and seeing new locations. Environment is essential to me for fostering artistic expression; locations have a approach of penetrating the psyche.

leah-27

And the place would you wish to journey to subsequent?
Hawaii. I have a imaginative and prescient of jungles and turtles and recent fruit and flowers.

What music do you’ve on rotation at present?
Just flicking again [through my playlist], it’s fairly diversified. Shining Bird, Wings, King Tubby, Australian Crawl, Nick Cave, the Only Lovers Left Alive soundtrack, Fleet Foxes, Esther Phillips, Otis Reading…in fact, David Bowie.

leah-17

Is trend important to you? How do you want to decorate?
I love garments. I assume that self-ornament is among the oldest and most elementary types of self expression out there to us as people. I love classic, however I additionally love the excessive-finish stuff — it’s an artwork type of its personal at that time. I assume my very own sense of favor wavers relying on my temper. It’s kind of romantic/hippy/70s/sleepwear-impressed? Sometimes I wander into gown-up territory, and there’s all the time plenty of black silk and white lace.

leah-30

What’s your private mantra or life philosophy?
I’m going to cite a wiser lady than myself, Patti Smith: “In artwork and dream might you proceed with abandon. In life might you proceed with stability and stealth.”

What trigger on the earth do you are feeling most keen about?
The setting. We have to protect what we’ve obtained and attempt to foster a worldwide motion of ecological consciousness for the good thing about future generations.

What are you at present engaged on?
I am presently engaged on [paintings of] a younger man holding a jaguar, a turbaned shaman, a big type of epic of the start of the universe, plus items for some upcoming group exhibits and the Melbourne artwork truthful this yr.

leah-9

Photography by

+Stay tuned for extra AUS-ome babes!

visit clothing sale website

Categories: Men fashion Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

