Home > Men fashion > AUS-ome Babes: Nina Karnikowski

AUS-ome Babes: Nina Karnikowski

Post image for AUS-ome Babes: Nina Karnikowski

The third publish in our collection about some critically cool Aussie babes…

This publish involves us from , and is the third in a A-half collection that includes some of our superb new pals in Australia!

Nina Karnikowski evokes countless wanderlust by way of her expressive and adventurous travels, which she paperwork for the worldwide journey press and her weblog, . When she’s not training yoga at an ashram in India, perusing the souks of Marrakesh or kayaking in Lower Zambezi National Park, this Aussie babe may be discovered frolicking within the ocean baths near her Coogee Beach condominium or consuming tea and tending to the animals at her adopted Hunter Valley winery and biodynamic farm, .


Name: Nina Karnikowski
Location: Coogee, Sydney/Broke, Hunter Valley
 Vocation: journey author, treasure hunter.

Describe your morning routine:

I lived in India for a yr a few years again and have become actually fascinated with their Ayurvedic rules, which I work into my mornings. I have a vata dosha, which means I go at one million miles an hour, so I actually need to floor myself earlier than I begin the day. I attempt to rise up round S:30am and get my digestive hearth began by scraping my tongue and consuming an enormous glass of water with a squeeze of recent lemon or a glug of apple cider vinegar. I often additionally do some dry physique brushing to get my lymphatic system going, and provides myself a fast self-love abhyanga therapeutic massage with sesame oil, which is nice for grounding vata energies. Then I set my Krishna Das chants enjoying, mild some incense, and drink my tea. I’m a part of the Global Tea Hut, an intentional tea-consuming group that focuses on tea as a approach of connecting to nature and your self. Each morning I take my time brewing the tea they ship me every month, then sip it mindfully in a type of lively meditation for so long as it takes to complete the pot. Depending on what’s happening in my head, it may be a blissful or virtually harrowing expertise, however it by no means fails to show me one thing new about myself and places me proper within the current. After that it’s both yoga if I’m in Sydney, or a stroll alongside the nation roads or across the farm with our canine if I’m within the Hunter Valley.

IMG_0098

What will get your juices flowing?

Music, music, music. I love blues, previous soul and people, however what I take heed to most is world music. Current obsessions are Ethiopian Jazz (Mulatu Astatke is the king), Ali Farka Touré’s attractive West African rhythms, Ananda Shankar (Ravi’s nephew) for Indian psychedelic goodness, and Jil Jilala for 70s Moroccan vibes.

IMG_0483

Do you prepare dinner or comply with a meals philosophy?

If so, what are your favourite issues to eat?
I love cooking, and my meals philosophy is principally, the brisker and nearer to nature, the higher. I was vegetarian for fairly a number of years and have only recently come again to consuming meat. Living on a biodynamic farm a lot of the time means I have entry to some actually lovely meat that hasn’t been raised in horrible manufacturing unit farms. I love huge, hearty meals. A few favorite dishes are (she provides dietary yeast and hazelnuts, so yummy), and my mum’s lecso recipe – she’s Hungarian and it’s principally an enormous stew of tomatoes, capsicums, chokos and potatoes. She all the time says it’s peasant meals however I adore it! I additionally do a imply nourishing bowl. My favorite of the second includes a mattress of brown rice with two tender boiled eggs, a touch of celtic sea salt and a sprinkling of chia seeds, surrounded by a halo of Byron Bay sauerkraut and perhaps somewhat little bit of spinach from our veggie patch, all doused with tamari. Sounds weird however attempt it, you gained’t remorse it.

How do you want to include motion into your life?


I’m a reasonably devoted yogini — I attempt to get to vinyasa courses a number of occasions every week and, if I’m on the farm, I do my very own apply most mornings. I additionally love strolling. I didn’t drive for the longest time and nonetheless discover it fairly a problem to maneuver our huge truck across the metropolis, so I’m used to strolling anyplace and in all places. I love going for lengthy coastal walks when I’m in Sydney with buddies of my mum, or getting out to the Royal National Park or the climbing trails across the Hunter when I can. I’ve additionally began swimming once more this summer time. I’m a water child and wish my saltwater hit at my native oceanfront ladies’s baths most mornings.

When do you are feeling most impressed?

When I’m on the street. There’s completely nothing that compares to that feeling of being on the transfer, experiencing new cultures, individuals and locations, and returning house feeling crammed up, reinvigorated and filled with tales to share. Travel strikes you in methods little or no else can. It stirs you up and flips you the wrong way up. It exhibits you methods to higher reside your life and reminds you simply how small we actually are. It’s so necessary to really feel insignificant and unimportant to shake off a few of that ego.

IMG_8404

What do you are feeling most gratitude for?

Nature. It’s drugs. Whether it’s the ocean, the bush or the mountains, it’s the place I really feel most at house and the place I can really come again to myself. I just lately learn a very fascinating research in National Geographic about how, once we get again to nature, we do our overstressed brains a favor. After being surrounded by nature for 2 days, they carry out 50 % higher than earlier than. Nature is so highly effective! And we actually, actually need to guard it.
When the going will get robust, what do you flip to?
 To my breath, and to my journal. I’ve been a journaler since I was a child, and when I really feel the load of the world on my shoulders I know I can pour my ideas out onto a couple of pages and really feel sort of OK once more. It’s the last word type of self-remedy. I consider that your notion is absolute actuality so, except for sorting by way of my feelings and venting my frustrations, I use this ritual to affirm that I’m plentiful and current in my life, in order that I manifest this stuff in my day-after-day.

 

What couldn’t you reside with out?


Books. They are my soul meals, my pals and my academics; they’ve taught me every thing I know. I’m what you’d name an extroverted introvert, and I love nothing greater than laying out within the hammock on the finish of the day with a superb guide. I’m presently devouring Graham Greene’s Ways of Escape to feed my wanderlust and to recollect what makes nice writing, A Thousand Mornings by my favorite poet Mary Oliver, who writes about connecting to nature like nobody else, and am perpetually discovering magic between the pages of Clarissa Pinkola Estés’ Women Who Run With the Wolves.

Where have you ever travelled to just lately?

Towards the top of final yr I visited Mongolia on a images tour task. We stayed with the nomads in ger tents, milked mares and yaks to make vodka and cheese, visited a horse pageant the place three-yr-olds raced bareback and males tamed wild horses, and drove throughout lots of of kilometres of untamed, untamed panorama. My journey to Morocco on the finish of final yr was one other standout journey. From the colourful souks of Marrakech and the wind-swept seashores of the hippy-vibed coastal city of Essaouira, to driving mules by means of the Atlas Mountains and wandering the winding alleyways of the medina of historic Fes, it was really a sensual delight.

And the place would you wish to journey to subsequent?

I’d love to go to Namibia in southwest Africa, to spend a while with the proud and delightful Himba tribeswomen, the nomads who cowl their hair and full our bodies in a pink ochre paste, and to go to the blazing purple dunes of Sossusvlei and the otherworldly Skeleton Coast. I’m additionally manifesting a trek via the luxurious mountains and steppe grasslands of Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan, ending up in an unique historic metropolis, one of many Silk Road wonders that I can utterly lose myself in. Hey, a woman can dream.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
, ,

What’s your prime journey tip?

The greatest experiences you’ll have on the street occur once you push your boundaries and say HELL YEAH to belongings you wouldn’t usually. This angle led me to kayak down a river filled with crocs and hippos in Zambia, to trek up an lively volcano in Papua New Guinea, and to go swimming with horses in Vanuatu…a number of the most unforgettable experiences of my life.

Do you’ve gotten a mentor or somebody you look as much as?


I actually look as much as each the life and work of Pico Iyer, who combines extremely insightful writing about journey and spirituality as an Indian man raised in England and now lives in rural Japan, in a means that’s really distinctive. “Travel for me is a bit of bit like being in love, as a result of out of the blue all of your senses are on the setting marked ‘on’; abruptly you’re alert to the key patterns of the world.” He simply will get it. His TED talks will blow your thoughts.

What’s your private mantra or life philosophy?

I studied Buddhism for some time, each at residence in Australia and in Nepal, and I actually hook up with the Buddhist idea of impermanence, recognizing that the whole lot is topic to vary and alteration. My instructor as soon as advised me to think about the self as a sphere on a aircraft of water, which can circulate in whichever approach the wind blows it. I wish to hold that in thoughts every time one thing that I may understand as adverse occurs: it too will change. It retains me within the current second.

What trigger on the earth do you are feeling most keen about?


Protecting the setting. The destruction of the planet may be such an awesome situation, however I assume if we will concentrate on our particular person efforts and attempt to do our bit, we will truly make a distinction. I attempt to step very flippantly on the world – to supply as little waste as potential, to buy issues secondhand, to help native natural meals producers, to not use an excessive amount of water, and to help sustainable companies in my work, just like the not-for-revenue eco-island of Ratua in Vanuatu that I visited on my final journey.

What are you at present engaged on?


Today I’m writing a narrative about the most effective locations to buy around the globe for SMH Traveller, and sprucing off a narrative and video about Morocco. I’ve additionally obtained some new treasures that must be shot for my on-line Bazaar, and I’m planning journeys to the Gujurat area of India and to Peru.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Travels With Nina’s Top Three Aussie Destinations
Promised Land

Oh, Promised Land. A tranquil sanctuary of rolling inexperienced pastures and plush, subtropical bushland simply outdoors of the free-spirited historic city of Bellingen on the north coast of NSW, that had a maintain on me because the second I first laid eyes on it. This is a spot of straightforward pleasures: picnicking by the swimming gap and mountaineering by the Never Never River, morning bike rides by means of the forest and stargazing beneath an upturned salt shaker of stars, and classic purchasing and entire meals-consuming on the town.

Cradle Mountain, Tasmania

I’ll always remember seeing Cradle Mountain’s snow-capped peaks seem, instantly and tantalizingly, on the finish of our two-hour drive from Launceston. It seemed wild and eerie and, once we arrived at Cradle Mountain Lodge at its tip, it proved to be simply that. Teeming with wallabies, wombats and tremendous-sized possums, we spent our time bushwalking by way of the World Heritage-listed Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park, splashing about within the picket scorching tub, and sitting round crackling fires consuming our weight in cheese and wine. Heaven.

Cook, ghost city of the Nullarbor

One of my first assignments ever as a journey author noticed me traversing throughout Australia on the Indian Pacific practice. As we bumped throughout the baked desert inside over three days, we stopped sometimes. One of the highlights for me was Cook, the ghost city of the arid Nullarbor Plain, with its deserted swimming pool, inhabitants of 4 and views throughout the countless scrolls of spinifex and saltbush. I keep in mind sitting within the mud searching into the nothingness, feeling so deliciously alone in that unusual vacancy. It’s a sense I’ve been chasing ever since.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Follow Nina on and take a look at her !

+ Check out our different AUS-ome Babes, and !

clothing sales

Categories: Men fashion Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

