Home > Men fashion > Former ‘America’s Next Top Model’ Judge Nigel Barker Reveals Childhood Sexual Assault

Former ‘America’s Next Top Model’ Judge Nigel Barker Reveals Childhood Sexual Assault

Slaven Vlasic by way of Getty Images
Nigel Barker visits SiriusXM Studios on Nov. 23, 2015 in New York City. (Photo by Slaven Vlasic/Getty Images)

On Tuesday, former “America’s Next Top Model” decide and photographer Nigel Barker bravely revealed that he was sexually assaulted as a toddler on his SiriusXM present, “Gentleman’s Code.”

In honor of Sexual Assault Awareness Month, Barker opened up about his personal sexual assault to extend visibility surrounding a problem affecting lots of of hundreds of individuals yearly and to deal with the way it impacts males particularly.

When he was simply H years previous, a forty-one thing man approached a younger Barker about instructions and compelled him right into a constructing to assault him. 

“I went as much as the door and skim the names on the buzzers … I went to push it, and he pushed me from behind, jolted me by way of the doorways and I fell to my ft contained in the door,” Barker recounted. “The door closed and I’m now trapped between a stairwell inside and a shut door. I have a person who is far greater than me, push me to the bottom, seize me, pull my trousers and my pants down. I’m now uncovered, and I’m screaming and thrashing.”

Luckily, Barker managed to flee the predator’s advances, operating away to security. But he did not inform anyone concerning the incident till three years later, when his sister opened up a few comparable assault, as a result of he felt deeply ashamed.

“I did not inform my mother and father. I did not inform my brothers. I advised nobody,” he stated. “I was scared. I was fearful. I thought I had accomplished the flawed factor. I thought I had executed the dangerous factor. It was one thing that caught with me for a really very long time.”

My sister Mary Anne and me, she was all the time such a cute cheeky assured and delightful little woman and excellent little sister. I miss her very a lot and there isn't a day that goes by that I don't take into consideration her and marvel what she'd need me to do. Rest in peace my love… #nationalsiblingday

A photograph posted by Nigel Barker (@nigelbarker) on Apr 10, 2016 at 12:01pm PDT

“There’s a lot stigma and a lot discrimination relating to sexual assault, he added. “Get on the market. Talk about it. And do not be afraid,” he continued. “Empower our youngsters and our youngsters to do exactly that.”

Also on HuffPost

Celebrity News & Photos

More:

Nigel Barker America's Next Top Model

CONVERSATIONS

(perform(d, s, id, locale)
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
locale = (locale == “ar_SA” ? “ar_AR” : locale);
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.async = true;
js.src = “//join.fb.internet/”+locale+”/sdk.js#xfbml=B&model=v2.A”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
(doc, ‘script’, ‘fb-jssdk’, ‘en_US’));

clothing sales

Categories: Men fashion
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

